The Tuesday Book Club – First meeting

Thanks for all the lovely enthusiasm for the book club.

Okay, so the first meeting will be on Tues 28th August at 7pm at The Old Crown, 33 New Oxford Street

There is another pub called The Old Crown not far away so make sure you get the right one. It’s a nice pub with a little room on the first floor that I’ve booked for us. Please do come. It will be a very friendly affair.

We’ll be discussing Heartburn by Nora Ephron, which means we’ll be talking about some of the following:

  • adultery
  • humiliation
  • cooking
  • revenge
  • pregnancy and babies
  • therapy
  • turning personal tragedy into comedy
  • Jewishness
  • parents
  • whether or not it is a good idea to put crushed pineapple in carrot cake

Some FAQs (these are real ones – people have actually asked these questions – my first ever real FAQs!)

Do I have to have read the book?

No, I don’t think so. There are so many good things to discuss (see list above) that I think you’d have a good time and go away either wanting to read the book or thinking that you know all about it.

Is it odd if I come on my own?

No, absolutely not. Please do.

What are you going to do if LOADS of people turn up?

Play it by ear.

What are you going to do if NO ONE turns up?

Sob into my drink and read out loud to myself until someone comes to take me away.

Why did you choose this pub?

For purely practical reasons (fairly central, nice little upstairs room that is free.) Only afterwards did I remember that some years ago it was the scene of a thematically appropriate humiliation…further details of which I might share with you on the night.

So, that’s it. Please do come along if you can.

xxx

Leave a Reply

